Next Stop: Las Fallas in Valencia, Spain

Well hello to everyone!!

I’m leaving for Valencia, Spain today to experience and write about Las Fallas.  It’s been 16 years since I was there!  I first have to thank my buddy Seijen for advising me to start up this blog.  For the next week, I’ll be recounting the colorful day-to-day activities along with pics and maybe some video.  There will be parades, competitions, explosions, fireworks, music, bullfights and more.  I’m hoping to make you feel like you’re there with me!

But, first, what is Las Fallas?  Fallas means fires.  We’ll get into more history later, but for now, the festival goes from March 1-19 culminating in over 300 bonfires throughout the city.  Neighborhood organizations spend all year building elaborate wooden statues or ninots (take a look at the pic below).  The statues are placed in the neighborhood squares throughout the city.  On the last night of Las Fallas, all but the winning ninot is burned.  It’s crazy!  Firemen are hosing down the apartment buildings surrounding the squares.

With over 700 streets closed, it’s no surprise that it’s been called Europe’s wildest street party.

What about Valencia?  Just to situate you, did you know that Valencia is the 3rd largest city in Spain after Madrid and Barcelona?  It’s on the Mediterranean coast about halfway down.  Kimberly and I were there in 2005 and it’s incredible to hear about all the changes just since that time.  Can’t wait to tell you about them all once I get there!

For now, I’m off to O’Hare.

Beautiful StatueCrema

Leave a comment